Create an Alert Workflow

An Alert Workflow represents a set of predefined system configurations related to Alert Issue handling. When a Workflow is applied to a KPI Alert, the following settings are assigned to the  Alert:

Status: allows defining the state of Issue resolution

a set of available Statuses, Roles, and some predefinead Alerting settings.

This article describes the first step of using Alert Management functionality. The full process includes:

  1. Create an Alert Workflow
  2. Apply an Alert Workflow to a new or existing KPI Rule

Permissions: Alert Workflows can be created by Admin users only.

Available for: KPI Alerts

1. Access New > Alert Rule > Alert Workflow

Name: Type in a unique and descriptive name for your future workflow. It will help you distinguish this Alert workflow from other options.

2. Statuses: overview, creating a new Status

A status is used to communicate the progress made on resolving an Alert Issue.

(The state of the status is used on the Alert Issue Grid to filter Alert Issues into My Alerts, My Subscriptions, Open Alerts, & All Alerts.)

Every new or existing workflow contains 2 default statuses that can be neither edited, nor deleted: New and Resolved. They represent 2 of the Alert states available within the system: Open or Closed Alert, respectively. When the Alert is first created, it is automatocally assigned the New status.

To create a new Workfow status option, define the following settings:

  • Status name: Define the name of the status that can describe interimn steps reflecting the progress made on an assigned Alert.
  • State: Each status in the workflow is assigned one of these states: Open or Closed. The state is used to filter Alerts (for example, only show open alerts). Closed alerts no longer send notifications or have other updates attached.

Save your entries.

3. Default Notification Settings
  1. Auto-close alert when condition no longer applies: Admin can choose if a specific alert rule auto-closes when condition is not longer met.
    • Choose closing status (this field is shown only when auto-close is enabled above): From the drop-down list select a status
  2. Acknowledgement by assignee required (see the example of an email below): If this setting is enabled, when an Alert with this workflow fires, an Assignee receives an email message with a request for a formal acknowledgement. This option offers a way to confirm that an Assignee is indeed aware of the Alert details and takes responsibility for the next step.  This option may be helpful when dealing with high priority Alerts that should be taken care of quickly and effecienlty.
4. Alert Workflow Roles: overview, creating a new Role
Crete New Role
  1. Initial Notification: Choose a method of Notificaion delivery when an Alert is generated and/or assigned to a User.
  2. Update Notification: Choose a method of Notificaion delivery whenever the Alert is updated with a Comment, Attachment, Status / Assignee / Priority change, or setting it to a Snooze mode.
  3. Starting Notification Delay:  This option allows to define a delay period (in days, hours, minutes) from initial Alert creation to when the first notification is sent to an Assignee. If the Alert Status State is set to 'closed' before the delay time has expired, no Notifications will be sent.
  4. Inaction Reminder Notification:  Set an interval countdown timer and if no update is made until the interval reaches zero, a reminder notification is sent to an Assignee. Once the interval reaches zero, it resets and starts counting down again. The interval will continue to count down until the Alert is closed or the reminder Notification is turned off at the User level.
  5. Consecutive alert notifications: When the Metric meets the Alert Rule condition for the first time, the Initial Notification is sent. If this setting is turned On and the Metric continues to meet the Alert rule condition on consecutive data points, an Alert Notification will be sent. This is is the same as choosing Every Time in the current version of alerting. If this setting is tuned Off, then users will only receive notifications when there is an update to the alert (see Update Notifications).

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment