Folder Security

Folders have both Privileges and Sharing/Permission.  In Release 6.2.3, the Groups and Users with which the Folder can  be shared or Permission to Add/Delete Content granted are limited to:

  • Groups to which the creating user belongs
  • Users who are members of the those Groups  

In addition, Power Users with Extended Security Privilege for Folders can share or grant Permission to Add/Delete Content to any Group or User.

1. Assign Folder Privileges:  Group/User Editor > Info tab

Select Folder Privileges

  1. "Create Folders":  
    1. Can be granted to either Regular or Power Users and allows creating Folders and sharing their content
    2. Power Users can also grant Permissions to Foders that they create.
  2. Extended Security:  Allows Powers Users to grant Permissions to and Share Folders with any User or Group

[Save]

2. Share Folders:  Folder Editor > Sharing tab

Regular or Power Users without Extended Security for Folders who are editing a Folder can share with:

  1. Groups to which the creating user belongs
  2. Users who are members of the those Groups  

Power Users with Extended Security can share with any Group or User.

If a User or Group receives Permission to "Add/Remove Content" to/from the Folder, Edit Access is granted.

2.1. Share with Groups

After clicking [Add Group]:

  1. Select a Group
  2. Choose whether or not the Group's members can see "Folder on Homepage": Example set to "Yes"
  3. Determine if the Group's members "Can Add/Remove Content" from the Folder:  Example set to "Yes"; i.e., receives Edit Access to the Folder
  4. [Save]
  5. Selected Group appears in "Groups with access" grid
  6. Both Group members of the Group appear in the "... Folder on Homepage" grid
  7. Both Group members of the Group appear in the "...Can Add/Remove Content" grid

2.2. Share with Users to See Folder on Homepage

Regular and Power Users can share a Folder with Users when  they create it or to which a Power User has  granted  Edit Access.  

  1. [Add User] in the "Users with Folder on Homepage" section
  2. Select a User

[Save] to add the selected User to the grid

2.3. Allow selected Users to Add/Remove Content from the Folder

Repeat the user selection process described above in the "Users who Can Add/Remove Content" to allow the chosen User to maintain the Folder's content.  This essentially grants Edit Access to the Folder.