Notification Schedule Security (Rel. 6.3.0 and beyond)
Both Regular (RU's) and Power Users (PU's) can use any Notification Schedule that is "Shared with Everyone" (formerly called "Public") when creating Bursts and other Collaborative Items; e.g., Alert Digest. Both types of users can also create a "Restricted Use" (formerly called "Private") Notification Schedule by clicking the Plus Sign (+) icon on the Burst Editor and completing a small popup. Any "Restricted Use" Schedule is only available to the user who created it. No Privilege is required for either of these actions.
Notification Schedules have three related Privileges that can be granted on the User or Group Editor.
- Regular or Power Users:
- Standalone: "Allow User to create High-Frequency Schedules": Allows a Regular or Power User to create a Schedule with a frequency of a specified number of minutes or hours. Otherwise, the minimum frequency is one or more days.
- Power Users only:
- Parent: "Access Full Notification Schedule Editor"
- Child: "Allow Power Users to grant Notification Schedule access to any Power User or Group"
- Parent: "Access Full Notification Schedule Editor"
Access Full Notification Schedule Editor Privilege" and related Permissions allows Power Users to access the full Notification Schedule Editor with the ability to:
- Set the Schedule's Access to "Shared with Everyone"
- Update any setting on the Editor
- Grant Permissions to Groups and Power Users to Edit a specific Schedule.
- Access the Notification Schedules entry in the Admin menu and, when selected, open the Notification Schedule list page.
- Use Active Name links in the grid to allow the PU to open the editor of any Notification Schedules to which the user has Edit Access.
In addition, an Admin or a Power User with Edit Access can grant Edit Access Permission for a Group or Power User to a "Shared with Everyone" Notification Schedule on one of the following:
- Notification Schedule Editor > Permissions button (only visible on Public Schedules)
- User Editor > Power User tab (Admins only)
- Group Editor > Power User tab (Admins or PU's with Edit Access to the Group)
With the extended Security Privilege, "Allow Power Users to grant Notification Schedule access to any Power User or Group", a PU is not limited to granting access to Groups to which the user belongs and Power User Members of those Groups. Edit Access may be assigned to any PU or Group.
As noted above, RU's can create Notification Schedules and use these, as well as any "Shared with Everyone" Schedule, when scheduling Burst for Collaborative Digests and Notifications. RU's can only edit "Shared with Everyone" Schedules that they created themselves. Regular User access to the User's Notification Schedule Editor is available via the edit icon next to the setting on the object being scheduled. or on the Content Menu > Notification Schedules The Editor itself is very limited and does not allow use of the "Access" setting.
In Release 6.3.0, the User, Group, and Notification Schedule Editors were updated to clarify that only Groups and Power Users can be granted Edit Access to a "Shared with Everyone" Notification Schedule. "Restricted Use" schedules may only be edited by an Admin or the user who created it or, as an exception, by a Power User who has been granted Edit Access to it. Power Users may be granted "Use" Access to a "Restricted Use" schedule.
(Admins or Power Users with Group Edit Access) Groups: Admin > Users & Groups > Group tab > Name link > Group Editor > Info tab
(Admins only) Individual Users: Admin > Users & Groups > Users tab > Name link > User Editor > Info tab
- [+ Privilege to Group or User]
- Filter by "schedule"
- Select one or all of the Notification Schedule Privileges to be granted to the Group or individual user
NOTE: If you select the Extended Security child Privilege and its parent has not already been selected, the parent will be selected and both Privileges given. The Parent may be selected independently of the child.
On the Group Editor > Info tab, an Admin or a PU with Edit Access to the Group may grant the Notification Schedule Privileges to be inherited by PU members of the Group. In the case of the High-Frequency Schedule Privilege, it is one that only will be inherited by RU members of the Group.
On the User Editor > Info tab > + Privilege to User, an Admin may grant Notification Schedule Privileges to a RU or PU, with the RU being restricted only to the High-Frequency Schedule Privilege.
- Find a Public Notification Schedule Editor on the list page
- Open its Editor and click the Permissions button
- On Notification Schedule Permissions popup, click the Plus button and select User or Group
- On popup, either Provide "Use" or "Edit" Access to the Group or User
On the Group Editor > Power Users tab > + Notification Schedule to Group > + Notification Schedule to Group, an Admin or a PU with Access to the Group may grant the Group Use or Edit Access to the selected Schedule to be inherited by its PU members.
On the User Editor > Power Users tab > + Notification Schedule to User, an Admin may grant the user Access to an individual Notification Schedule. Power Users may be granted Edit Access to allow them to access the full Notification Schedule editor IF they have the "Access Full Notification Schedule Editor" Privilege.
Use Access allows a Power or Regular user to select a Private Notification Schedule for a Burst or a Collaborative Item.
- On the Burst Editor > Content tab > Schedule Setting
- User always sees Add (plus sign Icon) that can be used to create a new schedule but when Power User has selected a Schedule to which the User has Edit Access, User also sees an Edit icon that can be used to Edit the selected Schedule on its full Editor.