Announcement Security

As of Release 5.4, there are two Announcement Privileges in the Power User Content Security grouping.  These Privileges may be granted to a Group or to a Power User but not to a Regular User.  These Privileges allow a Power User to create, edit and determine where an Announcement will be shown.

  1. Create Announcements
    1. Type:  Parent
    2. Description:   "Allows Power User to access Announcement list page and to add/change/delete Announcements that this user creates and associate Elements to which Power User has Edit Access"
  2. Show Announcements on Homepage
    1. Type:  Child of "Create Announcements"
    2. Description:  "Power User can set the Announcement Editor option that allows it to be displayed on the Homepage."     
    3. Processing:  When this Privilege is specifically added, Power User automatically receives the "Create Announcements" Privilege

As of Release 6.1.0, an existing Privilege was changed to include Announcements in its functionality:

1.  Revised Title:  Delete Collaborative Items and Remove Announcement Associations

  1. Type:  Standalone Privilege
  2. Revised Description:  "Provides ability to delete Comments, Expert Analysis, and Annotations as well as remove Announcement associationsfrom elements, tiles or charts to which the Power User user has Edit Access"
  3. Processing:
    1. If a Power User has this Privilege and full Edit Access to an element and its tiles/charts, the PU is allowed to delete Comments, Expert Analysis and Annotations as well as remove Announcements associations just as an Admin can do, regardless of who created the Collaborative or Announcement using a: 
      1. Trashcan associated with the Collaborative  item
    2. A "Suppress" link, with hover "Suppress Announcement from this Element" on the Announcement, has been added preceding the X.
      1. When the Suppress link is clicked, a popup with a message: "This Announcement will no longer be associated with this element and will not be visible to other users who view it." is displayed.
    3. A grid containing a log of Announcement changes is provided on the Announcement Editor > Elements page

As of Release 6.1.1, the orignal Create Announcements Privilege is expanded and an additional Extended Security Announcement  Privilege is available as follows:

  1. Create Announcements
    1. Type:  Parent
    2. Revised Description:  "Allows Power User to access the Announcement List page and to manage Announcements that this user creates or to which user has Edit Access. User can associate Elements to which Power User has Edit Access and grant Edit Access to the Announcement to Groups to which the Power User belongs or to individual Power User members to those Groups."
    3. Revised Processing:   Unless the Power User has the associated Extended Security Privilege, the user is only allowed to grant Announcement Permissions to Groups to which the user belongs and to individual Power User members of those Groups
  2. Allow Power Users to grant Announcement access to any User or Group 
    1. Type:  Child of "Create Announcements"
    2. Description:   "Expand Power User's authority to allow granting Announcement access to any User or Group" 
    3. Processing:  
      1. This Privilege may only be granted to PU’s who have the parent “Create Announcements”
      2. If the Parent is selected, this Privilege is not automatically selected
      3. If this Privilege is selected and  the PU does not already have the Parent,
        "Create Announcements" is automatically selected and is granted simultaneously when this Privilege is saved.

1. Add Privilege to Group/User:  Group/User Editor > Info tab

2. Suppress an Announcement from Element's Viewer

If the Power User has Edit Access to the Element being viewed and it has an Announcement visible on its Viewer:

  1. Click "Suppress" link on the Announcement
  2. Click OK on the popup

The Announcement no longer shows on the Element's Viewer.

3. Review Announcement Logs

3.1. Announcement Editor > Elements tab

A log of "Suppressed Elements List" is maintained on the Announcement Editor > Elements tab > below the Elements grid and has the following columns:

  1. Element containing an active Name link to the Elements Editor
  2. Type displaying the type of Element that was removed
  3. User identifying the First and Last Name of the person who suppressed the Announcement for that element with an Active Name Link to the User's Editor
  4. Date & Time with datetime the suppression was effected

An entry is made in this log whenever an element associated with the Announcement is suppressed from displaying it.

3.2. Element Editor > Associations tab

An Announcements log is kept on the Element Editor > Associations tab in the last grid that has the following columns:

  1. Name containing an active link to the Announcement's Editor
  2. Status
    • If not suppressed: Shows link "Suppress" with hover "Suppress Announcement from this Element"
    • If suppressed: Contains "Suppressed by <FirstName LastName> at <Datetime>" and a revert icon that, if clicked, shows the Announcement on the Element's Viewer again